Rohtak News Magazine

IPL Season 7: Chennai Super Kings Register Win over Sunrisers Hyderabad; Delhi Daredevils Derail Mumbai Indians in Sharjah

 Breaking News
  • No posts where found

IPL Season 7: Chennai Super Kings Register Win over Sunrisers Hyderabad; Delhi Daredevils Derail Mumbai Indians in Sharjah

April 28
15:03 2014

cskSharjah, Monday, April 28 – The Twenty20 tournament is entering into an interesting phase with each passing match as Chennai Super Kings continue their road to victory while the defending champions Mumbai Indians have not even sealed a win in the current season.

The weekend arrived with a ‘double-dhamaka’ show as Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils were scheduled to contest against Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians, respectively, at Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah.  The first match between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils became a one sided match when winners of IPL season 6 were sent at the back foot by sharp bowling attack of Kevin Pietersen’s boys despite winning the toss and electing to bat first.

The opening partners Rohit Sharma (4 runs of 5 balls) and Aditya Tare (8 runs of 10 balls; 4 x 1) kicked off MI’s innings, but with an unexpected run out of the skipper in the second over gave an early jolt to the squad. Tare was dismissed in 3.2 overs when Wayne Parnell stunned him with an amazing piece of bowling. Corey Anderson and Ambati Rayudu had to depart at the scores of 13 and 14 runs post succumbing to Jaydev Unadkat and Shahbaz Nadeem, respectively. The shock was not over yet by this time as Michael Hussey was sent back to the pavilion by Unadkat in 9th over.

Kieron Pollard showed some good hands and tried to stabilize wobbly innings of his team but from the other end, wickets kept on falling as wicket-keeper batsman Chidhambaram Gautam also turned out a run out victim. A little respite was given by Harbhajan Singh though he did not score any run in the first two balls. But he gained the pace and hit a big six and a boundary in the same over. After being retired hurt, Zaheer Khan (0 of 0 balls) came to take the final run and he did so when Pollard (33 runs facing 30 balls; 4 x 1, 6 x 1) struck the final ball.

After 120 balls, MI scored a below average total of 125 runs, which was chased by Delhi Daredevils in 18.5 overs only. Murali Vijay (40 runs of 34 balls; 4 x 4; 6 x 1) and the right-handed batsman Pietersen (26 runs of 18 balls with a couple of boundaries and a six) played imperative role in Delhi’s victory. The 20-20 over game seems to be including nothing too exciting for Mumbai Indians who lost their fourth match in a row.

In another match played on the same ground, Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 5 wickets. Batting first, SRH set the target of 145 runs in 20 overs, losing 5 wickets. With Dwayne Smith’s mind-boggling innings of 66 runs (4 x 4 and 6 x 5), Brendon McCullum hitting a knock of 40 runs and CSK’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s timely finish, Chennai Super Kings attained the target in 19.3 overs.

Related Articles


February 2018
« Jan